Grant Recipients

ACG Clinical Research Awards 2015

The ACG Institute for Clinical Research and Education is pleased to announce the award of $,1,082,165 in support of outstanding clinical research in gastroenterology. For 2015, the ACG Institute will support three Junior Faculty Development Grants, at an overall level of $900,000 – an investment in career development which recognizes and supports promising clinical researchers. The 2015 Clinical Research Awards will go to 13 investigators for a total of $301,775.

Founded in 1994, the Institute has provided funding to 574 investigators for research directly relating to the clinical gastrointestinal practice with funding of just over $16.4 million. Thanks to generous support of ACG members and from industry, the ACG Institute has a dedicated source of funds to support clinical research and education priorities.

2015 ACG Junior Faculty Development Grant – $300,000 each

The ACG Junior Faculty Development Grant is a three-year award designed to support a junior faculty member or mid-career clinical investigator of outstanding promise to establish an independent, productive career in gastroenterology or hepatology. This award of $75,000 per year for each of three years provides salary support for protected time to young investigators at critical points in their career development.

The ACG Board of Trustees approved the three awards recommended by the ACG Research Committee from their review of an excellent field of applicants:

Christopher Almario, MD, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Automated Evaluation of Gastrointestinal Symptoms (AEGIS): A Pragmatic Clinical Trial Evaluating the Impact of AEGIS on Clinical Outcomes

Cynthia Moylan, MD, Duke University Medical Center
Epigenetics and the Development of Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease

Jennifer Price, MD, University of California San Francisco
The influence of HIV infection on the natural history of nonalcoholic fatty liver disease

2015 ACG Clinical Research Awards

Each year, the College offers Clinical Research Awards of up to $35,000 for original clinical research. The mission of the ACG Clinical Research Awards program is to fund innovative research that is patient-care oriented. The Committee also considers proposals for pilot awards of up to $10,000 within this category. Selected for funding for 2014:

Jasmohan Bajaj, MD, Virginia Commonwealth University and McGuire VA Medical Center
Impact of Proton Pump Inhibitors on Gut Microbiota in Decompensated Cirrhosis

Raymond Cross, MD, University of Maryland, Baltimore
Impact of Medical Treatment on Sexual Function in Patients With Crohn’s Disease

Parambir Dulai, MD, University of California San Diego
Fecal Immunochemical Testing (FIT) for Quantifying Disease Activity in Ulcerative Colitis: Identifying a ‘FIT for Purpose’ Clinical End-Point

Girish Hiremath, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children’s Hospital
Salivary Biomarkers for Eosinophilic Esophagitis

Yvette Leung, MD, Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary
Impact of Maternal Thiopurine Therapy on Pregnancy Outcome and Neonatal Anemia

Laura Raffals, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester
A Comprehensive Evaluation of Pouch Evacuation Dynamics and Pouchitis

Joel Rubenstein, MD, University of Michigan Medical School
Vitamin D and Parathyroid Hormone in Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease and Proton Pump Inhibitor Use

Harminder Singh, MD, University of Manitoba
Epidemiology and Outcomes of Clostridium Difficile Infections in IBD: A Population-based Study

2015 ACG Clinical Research Awards
Pilot Grants up to $10,000

Somashekar Krishna, MD, The Ohio State University Medical Center
Does Peri-procedural Lactated Ringer’s Solution Dampen the Inflammatory Response and Reduce the Risk of Post ERCP Pancreatitis When Compared to Normal Saline: A Pilot Study

Thaddaeus May, MD, Baylor College of Medicine
Mortality in Kwashiorkor Malnutrition; the Role of Cardiac Disturbances

Kathryn Peterson, MD, University of Utah
Buccal Mucosa: Potential Insight into Eosinophilic Esophagitis

Sarita Sehra, PhD, Indiana University School of Medicine
Biomarkers for PPI-responsive EoE

Matthew Stotts, MD, Saint Louis University Hospital
Evaluation of Serum-Derived Bovine Immunoglobulin Protein Isolate in Subjects With Decompensated Cirrhosis With Ascites

2014 ACG “Smaller Programs” Clinical Research Award

Given the ACG Institute’s aims to stimulate and support excellent clinical GI research, while at the same time maintaining an ongoing commitment to fund the best science, funds under the new category of Clinical Research Award established in 2011 are intended to make the promise of a research career more broadly available by targeting investigators at smaller training programs.

The recipient for 2014 is:

Raluca, Vrabie, MD, Winthrop University, Mineola, NY
Optimizing Inpatient Inflammatory Bowel Disease Management through a Computerized Physician Order Entry System